Posted by: porschebahn | June 6, 2009

Qualifying for Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup round 5 at the Turkish Grand Prix

agp 1 
Fourth pole position for Jeroen Bleekemolen

At the qualifying session for the fifth round of the Porsche Mobil1 Supercup, Jeroen Bleekemolen (Netherlands) secured his fourth pole position of the season. Driving his 420 hp Konrad Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 Cup on the Grand Prix circuit in Istanbul Park, the title defender and points’ leader was 0.264 seconds quicker than René Rast (Germany). The reigning Carrera Cup champion, who competes for the VELTINS MRS Racing team, had also taken up the previous round in Monaco from the front row of the grid.

In high summer temperatures, Norbert Siedler gave a surprising performance. The Austrian set the third quickest time at the wheel of his VELTINS MRS Racing 911, marking his best qualifying result this season. Siedler shares the second row for Sunday’s race with Richard Westbrook from Great Britain. Driving for the Federsand-Jetstream-Motorsport squad, Westbrook, the Supercup champion of 2006 and 2007, has won the races in Barcelona and Monaco so far this season. Lining up on the grid behind the pair are Jiri Janak from the Czech Republic (Konrad Motorsport) and the quadruple Supercup champion from the Netherlands, Patrick Huisman (SPS Performance).

Sharing the fourth row are Irishman Damien Faulkner (Walter Lechner Racing School), vice-champion of 2007 and 2008, and the New Zealand Supercup newcomer Matt Halliday, who currently leads the Rookie Classification for his Federsand-Jetstream Motorsport team. Rounding off the top ten on the grid are Stefan Rosina from Slovakia (Walter Lechner Racing School) and the Italian Luigi Ferrara (SANITEC RACING), for whom this marks his best result so far in his debut Supercup season.

Drivers comments

Jeroen Bleekemolen (pole-sitter): “I’m very pleased. What a great qualifying. We’ve shown that we’ve bounced back from our little low at Monaco. We are back where we want to be. Now I just hope we can turn this good qualifying performance into a victory on Sunday.”

René Rast (second qualifier): “I’m really happy. It’s always good to take off into the race from the first row. I think I could have been a little quicker, but I was held up by slower competitors. Still, we have an excellent car for the race so I think I still have something up my sleeve. Anyway, I’m optimistic.”

Norbert Siedler (third qualifier): “I finally got a perfect lap. Thanks to my team for putting a great car on the track for me today. I avoided making the same mistake today that I made yesterday in free practice and I was really fast. This circuit suits me and I was fast here last year too. I hope I can turn it into a good race result. If I manage it, I reckon a podium result could be possible.”

Television stations “Eurosport” and “Premiere” broadcast the race in Istanbul live on Sunday, 7th June, from 11.45 hrs. In addition, “Eurosport” televises highlights on Sunday evening in its “Motorsports Weekend” programme.

Statistics

Qualifying result
1. Jeroen Bleekemolen (NED), Konrad Motorsport, 1:57.474 minutes
2. René Rast (GER), VELTINS MRS Racing, + 0.264 seconds
3. Norbert Siedler (AUT), VELTINS MRS Racing, + 0.301
4. Richard Westbrook (GBR), Federsand-Jetstream Motorsport, + 0.338
5. Jiri Janak (CZE), Konrad Motorsport, + 0.830
6. Patrick Huisman (NED), SPS Performance, + 0.922


Leave a Reply

Categories

