Posted by: porschebahn | November 10, 2009

Walter Röhrl Wins Costa Brava Rally Historic

walter rohrl 1

Four-Times Monte Carlo Winner Dominates European Championship Race

Stuttgart. Walter Röhrl has won the race for the FIA European Rally Championship for Historical Cars in the Spanish town of Lloret de Mar last weekend. Teaming up with co-pilot Peter Göbel, German Rally Champion in 2002, 2004, 2005, and 2006, the two-times World Rally Champion drove a 1981 Porsche 911 RSR to victory. With their re-built and perfectly prepared rally version of the 911, Röhrl/Göbel immediately moved up to the top group in the race, together with ex-Renault works driver Jean Ragnotti in an Alpine A110, Historical European Championship specialist Michael Stoschek, Valter Jensen and Toto Riolo, all driving a Porsche 911, and three Group 4 Lancia Stratos. Under very difficult weather and track conditions, Röhrl clearly demonstrated his unique driving skills as the four-times Monte Carlo winner on the last two stages of the race, bringing home an historical victory for Wolfgang Reile’s Classic Power Team in the very special style of the truly outstanding driver who also won the European Rally Championship in 1974.

Results Rally Costa Brava Historic:

1. Röhrl/Göbel Porsche 911 RSR 1.26,27.2
2. Brazzoli/Valmassol Porsche 911 SC + 02,45.9
3. Font/Moreno Ford Escort RS + 03,46.3

walter rohrl Rally Costa Brava Historic

walter rohrl Rally Costa Brava Historic

walter rohrl Rally Costa Brava Historic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: