Posted by: porschebahn | March 21, 2009

1963 Porsche 356 Carrera 2 GS Coupe

This beautiful numbers matching 356 Carrera GS Coupe was being displayed by Capt. Peter Bartelli of Venice Florida in the 4 cam Porsche Class at this years Amelia Island Concours.

It is one of only 436 Carrera’s produced during model years 1962 – 1964, of which 310 were coupes.  While the body was more or less a typical T-6, the engine was anything but typical.  The new 2 liter, 4 cylinder, 4 cam produced 130 horsepower at 6,200 RPM.  The top speed was advertised at 130 mph with a 0 – 60 mph in just over 8 seconds.  This was the fastest Porsche 356 in its day.  It was restored to its original specifications by the third owner.

I LOVE the color combination!

To read the history on this fabulous car as told by Capt. Bartelli please visit: Me and 123631


Responses

  1. Wally,

    I was captivated by this car and the quality of the restoration. In fact, I voted for the car as “Peoples Choice”. I don’t know the results of the vote but regardless, it was my choice!

    Steve Potter

  2. A 6:06 am responce from Steve? Must have been too cold for golf.

    • Hey Rob,

      We need to do a little piece on your 993?!

  3. I can clean it up this week and be down saturday. I have some GT sliver touch up for the 40th anniversary to give to the new owner and Steve mentioned a cover for mine. It’s also a good excuse for Louie and I to look around.

    • See you and Louie Saturday!

  4. Rob,

    I did mention a car cover for your beautiful car but I didn’t mention the price! Heh, Heh!

    Steve

  5. Thank you for your vote Steve.
    This car was a six year “labor of love” and I’d be happy to share the experience with anyone interested in such things. The restoration was done at Europa Macchina in Lewisberry, PA, Dennis Frick, owner.
    Pete


Leave a comment

Categories